Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-02-27 - 7:11 p.m.

Maturity.

No I'm not actually writing about it or the lack of it. I simply discovered a side effect of it.

I ordered a set of books that I read as a child mostly because I had been reading some opinions of Harry Potter and one side of the debate thought them dumb compared to 'A Wrinkle in Time'. And I thought -oh yeah I read that as a kid, I should get that for my library. (I have bunches of books that I hope munchkin will enjoy). (Plus the occasional dramatic reading from 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' is good!)

So my memory of 'A Wrinkle in Time' was that it was a really hard book. Duh, I was 9 or 10 when I read it, I think. So when it arrived I whipped through that critter one afternoon. Such an easy read. A nice refresher.

So I had to ask myself what else am I neglecting because my memory is that it was "hard". The books read differently now and I think there are some good ones I should definitely consider re-reading.

My current re-read is Lord of the Rings. I am now a bit over half-way through it (that is 1/2 way through a compilation of all 3 books). I read it in high school and kept thinking after that I ought to read it again, but it was so long and hard to follow. Now it is a joy. I fly through the pages and bore my husband to tears talking about it.

I think I just found a real benefit to age and maturity. I knew there had to be at least one more than drinking sodas whenever you want one.

TTFN

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen