Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-11-26 - 7:12 p.m.

The Holiday.

Well, we're back.

The trip was both as bad as I thought and not too bad at all. How do you like that.

The flight to FLA left at 7:15 driving to the airport at 5:30 there were so many people on the road I knew we'd be in trouble. Sure enough the lines were horrendous. Had to check in as our tickets were for a cancelled direct flight and even though we had been switched to a new flight, we needed the new tickets. After about 45 minutes wait at check in I told DH that if we missed the plane we were just gonna go home. Shortly after that, they moved us to the 'express line'. Then the security line. Thirty minutes later we had moved maybe 4 feet on a 25 foot line. I sent DH to see if we could cut to the front when they came looking for people leaving at 7:20. I was all over that (boy were they suprised to find a 7:15 departure still in line) and they bumped us to the front again. My humble appologies to all the people we jumped ahead of. I've never seen anything like it before.

We got on the plane just before they closed the doors. Nothing like being the last ones onboard, at least it's easy to see which seats are yours.

The rest of the flight was pretty uneventful. As for the visit:

  • Why is the 5 year old the only one who realized that he can't swim with a cast? (Oh yeah, it didn't get taken off on Tuesday - just exchanged for a new one.)

  • My father-in-law is getting to be pretty scary on the road. He crossed 3 lanes of traffic because we were on I-4 and when he saw exit 4 he thought the highway was splitting or turning or something.

  • My in-laws will bicker endlessly over the dumbest stuff. Like whether we had gotten on the wrong Disney monorail or not. We hadn't.

  • Apparently DH doesn't bother me with all the nagging he gets during his weekly phone call from Mom. She was extremely upset that we don't have a will written. Seems she's been bugging him about this for a while now. Afraid that munchkin will become a ward of the state if we die. She was visibly upset as she went off on that topic at dinner on Wednesday.

  • The in-laws have a nifty little duplex. If it weren't such an old folks place it would be pretty appealing to visit more.

  • For some unknown bizarre reason, DH is interested in owning a timeshare.

  • We didn't get to see the resident aligator. Darn.

  • Munchie was not nearly as impressed with Disney as I thought he'd be. But as we headed back to the hotel on the bus he said "we had a fun time didn't we". Frankly I think his favorite thing was the fact that there was a tv playing a disney video in the waiting area for the restaurant.

  • Leaving Venice at 8am to go to Disney for the day, does not leave enough day for Disney. Especially if you stop at the hotel first so you can take their bus over. We barely did one section. Leaves more for next time I suppose.

  • For some reason my MIL does not think my child eats vegetables. I do not think I can cheerfully take one more nagging on the subject. Especially since she's wrong.

I also have to confess that on Friday when we went to a mini-golf place I did a bad thing. After lunch we were getting ready to go when MIL discovered her soaps weren't on. She said "well maybe I'll go too" (to the mini-golf), but since she didn't seem to be getting off the couch I didn't say anything and we went without her. We had a lovely time, but she was a bit peeved that she got left behind. I'm a bad girl but as my DH said "she'd probably just have complained the whole time".

The return trip was reasonably uneventful necessitating a day of planes and airports. Seems like I could almost have driven back from Charlotte in the amount of time we sat around waiting for the last leg of the trip. All things considered, if the only late flight is the last one it is a very lucky thing indeed.

Hope everyone had a splendid holiday!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen