Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-09-30 - 10:17 a.m.

Strange and wonderful.

Yesterday had a little of both things strange and wonderful.

First I ran some errands in Laurel. It was kind of bizarre. I didn't realize how easy it would be to trace the path of the tornado. I knew where two of the damaged areas were, but just in regular driving the path was very clear. Just follow the roofs covered in blue tarps. It must have crossed 95 near 32, because half the sign is missing and theres another group of damaged houses right over the highway.

Then I drove past Ft. Meade on the way to the event. The first yikes was the large trucks blocking the road I used to take every morning to drop my son at daycare. I wonder if that road is open during the week days?

Normally Ft. Meade is an extremely open base, so it was really weird to see all the closed gates. Traffic was backed up terribly along 32, and their idea of a detour for it was to close the left turn lanes and send people down to the next exit and around again so that they can queue up on the shoulder to go through the inspection. That was very strange.

Finally wonderful. The SCA event. It was a great little bit of wonderful. Kick back, schmooze a bit. Admire the wonderful garb that folks have been making. Indulge in a bit of heraldry envy. It was very good.

Of course it does bring out a few self image issues. Mostly because I know I could do better in my kit if I set aside a little more time for it. Perhaps if I cut back on this diary ...

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen