Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-09-08 - 9:10 p.m.

The best kind of day.

I am tired. Bone tired. It comes from having been out and about pretty much the whole day long. That's a big change for me because normally I'm a bit of a home body.

Today I was up early. Made coleslaw for the neighborhood party, Set out cookie makings for the boys to take care of, threw a few things in the car and hit the road. I travelled down to Coronation for at least a partial day of SCA play.

The site was about an hour and a half away. Cuts into my play time a bit, but quite frankly I love a good drive. Driving gives the paranoid, hyper attentive part of my mind something to do and that lets the long thoughts and dreaming part play a bit. The morning part of the drive was actually pretty relaxing. Plus I arrived in plenty of time which was one of my worries.

I checked in and then I wandered aimlessly a bit. Set up my chair and kind of wondered what to do next. Happily I noticed some old friends to greet and from that point I was off and running. Short chats with several friends and then Last Court and Coronation. A tiny bit heavier on the silly schtick side from his former majesty, but fine none the less.

I was greatly pleased to serendipitusly (is that a word) manage to be present for Mistress Kiri's Laurel which was quite nice. Coronation was interesting. A bit more schtick which went rather well - although I did detect a bit of effort on the part of the participants at keeping a straight face. Then I watched an excellent friend and favorite former roommate become queen which was my reason for coming. She seemed speechless to me which I deemed worth the price of admission!

I got to schmooze with some other friends I haven't seen in ages then once again found myself a bit aimless. Happily I stopped a minute to schmooze with Reynard. Arianna returned and we sat in the shade for a bit of lunch. While Arianna zipped off on autocrat some errand or another, Reynard and I had a lovely conversation about recognition. It was mostly about Arianna and what she does, but the irony of the discussion was that as we finished it up a vast retinue headed by the new majesties came up ostensibly to appologize to Arianna about some confusion with vigil sites which was their sneak attack way of coming to put Reynard on vigil for his Laurel. Second item of the day deemed worth the price of admission.

My great regret for the day is that my afternoon was committed to the neighborhood party and I could not stay to see the award. I can think of few things that make me happier than watching my good friends get recognition they deserve.

I had nice chats with various other folks, decided that I really do better at events when I have a job to do.(But no more checkbooks for a while.) I do like the fiddly bookkeeping kind of stuff, though, so maybe I'll learn to be a listmistress or something.

Had to take my leave too early to suit me, but early enough not to have been totally dehydrated. Drove the hour and a half home and arrived with a nice cushion of 20 minutes or so before the block party.

Met lots of neighbors at the block party, discovered that all the neighborhood kids are in am kindergarten but mine (because he's special ed). Discovered there are 5 kindergarteners, including the neighbor twins. Schmoozed with many neighbors whose names I'll never remember and the new folks next door whose names I wrote down so that I don't forget.

Not a bad day at all. Tomorrow, housework. Sigh, guess they can't all be great.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen