Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-08-02 - 6:12 p.m.

The Post Awful

Today I went to the Post Office on an errand to get my passport renewed. I decided to do it in person since, while I have an expired passport, it is in my maiden name. The web site says that I have to go in person if I don't have my marriage certificate, so off I trudge.

Now I do actually have my marriage certificate -- it's in the safe deposit box. I didn't strike me prudent, however, to send the original to the passport office. The way the web site reads, I thought I could use alternate identification if I presented myself in person.

No Dice.

First I walk into the largest post office I have ever seen in my life. I get momentarily lost in the thousands of PO Boxes then see over the PO Box counter that I need to go to the full service area, across the lobby. Off to the full service area. They had 3 lines (not all staffed) for stamp collectors alone. They had 10 stations for regular postal needs. They of course had one guy staffing the whole thing. So I wait for 5 people to be waited on only to find they also have a separate passport counter. Sigh.

So I get there and find two fine USPS employees to assist me. Only they can't, because I don't have my marriage certificate. So not only do I not get my passport renewed yet - I have to endure a 5 minute lecture on such topics as *how much cheaper it is to mail it in, *how easy it is to drive to Reisterstown to get a copy of my marriage certificate, *how much quicker it is by mail, *and why did I waste my time coming there when it's cheaper to mail it in.

Geeze. Now I have to go get a copy of the marriage certificate from the county. It only took 3 calls to find out how. The only problem is that I have been late 3 days a week for the last 5 weeks due to munchkin's summer school and of course business hours are 8:30 to 4:00 weekdays.

Literally half the office is out on leave, so I figure I'm stuck 'till next week at the earliest. Bless Mary the office manager (heavens knows what her title really is the boss just calls her "the glue") she insists I stop on my way to work tomorrow. She doesn't want me to have even the possibility of endangering my trip.

This time I think I'll just sent it by mail.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen