Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-07-30 - 7:31 p.m.

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

So I got my husband's niece a summer job at my work. Kind of a payback because her mom is watching my munchkin a couple of afternoons a week while he's in summer school. SIL mentioned maybe I could ask about jobs one weekly dinner and low and behold the perfect opportunity presented itself the following week. Boss was complaining about the workload and distractions plaguing the 'Web Guy' I offered a digital media summer intern. It was serendipitous.

Now summer's nearly over and ohmygod am I glad.

Work is my escape from my home. My refuge. No one bothers me except for help or business - until Becky. She's bored - the workload was not nearly what we thought. (I guess it says something about the 'Web Guy', he complained bitterly of the overwork.) So she walks into my office (around my desk to see what I'm doing) and then plops in the side chair to talk (and talk and talk and talk - oh yeah except when she cried for 2 hours).

I'm a misogynist. I just can't take it!

And why is it that she is so much smarter, better, more responsible, more whatever than everyone else she has ever encountered. Was I this tedious and stuck up at 20? She's a 'C' student who actually told me she was a math genius. And 90% of everyone she's met of her age is "stuck up". Geeze.

I'm stuck for a couple more weeks, then blessed freedom again.

... Now I just have to speak to the boss about her NOT working here on her vacations.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen