Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-11-01 - 7:36 p.m.

A Practically Perfect Pumpkin Fest.

Halloween was fab. I left work early so I could stop stressing about having everything ready. The luminaria worked excellently, the jacks were glowing brilliantly and the boy had a wonderful time. There's only 2 things I would have changed. First the kids keep starting earlier and earlier, I made dinner way early and we still had a trick or treaters before the table was cleared. The worst part was when they came the dog was under my feet and he got trompled and the waiting kids got to hear me curse rather loudly. Second change would be a functional fire. I had this grand plan to put a fire in the fire bowl and sit outside and distribute candy. It would have been a great plan too if the fire hadn't turned rapidly into a horrible smokey mess. When two little girls came up shielding their eyes from the billowing smoke I decided I had to douse it. Oh well.

I still ended up outside for much of the evening, sitting in the driveway or chatting with the neighbor. We had herds of kids of all ages. Probably twice as many as last year. The full sized hershey bars were a big hit. Next time I need lollypops for the highschoolers, though, as they kept trying to scam additional bars by going on and off the steps and recirculating within their little herd. I'm too observant for that, though although the mustard bottle did scam me by hiding behind two bigger kids and sticking the bag through for seconds I caught it a moment too late.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen