Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-07-14 - 4:24 p.m.

The Bad Combo.

Laying awake the other night I think I figured it out. It's the killer combo of boredom and overstimulation. Not a common combination making it all the more difficult to deal with.

I'm bored. I have work to do at work, but it isn't very interesting stuff. It's mostly things I have to force myself to plod through. I have a couple chores to do at home but not much going on there either. I have no damn social life and no scheduled trips until Mexico next winter.

On the other hand I am almost never alone. There is almost no downtime. I get up and go to the gym. Return and get ready for work. Breakfast with the family. Get the boy and drive him to camp. Get to work where I've been moved from my nice dead end cube to within shouting distance of the boss on what is clearly the main drag. Work. Leave, pickup the boy at camp. Drive home with the boy, work on the boy's workbook while making dinner. Have a nice family dinner together then supervise trombone practice or reading. Lately he's even wanted to read to me out loud on reading nights. Then with his new bedtime he's up and about hogging the tv or asking me to get off the computer until within a half hour of when I go to bed. I have no alone time unless I'm upstairs or in the bathroom.

The sum of it is just a terrible feeling of blah. Add to that some existential crap and pms and it's just pretty damn ugly. Clearly I need another hobby or maybe another trip. I'm bummed because I'm just not sure I can swing Chicago in the middle of the boy's birthdays. I'm still pondering that one or maybe I need something else.

Understanding, but no answers. Just plodding along.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen