Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-04-02 - 8:02 p.m.

Touring.

Part of our field trip downtown involved seeing some of the sights on the mall. We walked up the hill to the Washington Monument. I was pleased that the boy knew what the Lincoln Memorial was but somewhat dismayed he didn't know the Washington Monument. I told him about the Smithsonian museum. From atop the hill I pointed out Lincoln, the Capitol building and the White House. Then we walked down the hill to the WWII memorial. Pointing out buildings is one thing, but it was a bit of a challenge to explain a war. There was a group singing there (probably for the Cherry Blossom Festival) and tons of vets in their American Legion vests. I did my best explanation of the war at the understanding of the 9 year old. I'm not sure what impression I made (oh look, a duck!).

Then we walked down along the reflecting pool and up the steps to Lincoln. We admired the statue and the view. I explained why I think Lincoln was important.

The challenge was repeated yet again at the Korean War Memorial. It was harder here. WWII was a breeze compared to Korea. WWII had a villan. How do you explain halting the spread of communism and a stalemate war to a kid? I hope I didn't offend any veterans nearby.

Stangely the Vietnam Veterans memorial was easier. It is, after all, a war I lived through at his age. I tried to instill in him a respect for how important The Wall is to many who visit it. Maybe a little stuck.

Patriotism, freedom, democracy. So important you'd think they'd be easier to express.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen