Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-03-27 - 12:14 p.m.

Long time, no substance.

So I've owed a nice long juicy entry for quite a while. I just don't seem to have it in me lately. I'm sure that's partly because I have to assume DH is reading now. I'd love to say that doesn't affect me, but that would be a lie. Partly it's just due to the unrelenting sameness of my days. I don't even want to try and put a shine on it, it's just the same crap over and over.

In the recent past I've worked. Work is the same. There's the usual level of insanity. I've added a couple tasks which is a blessing as one of them is even interesting. The boss is the boss. The minion is the minion. Same ole, same ole,

The weight is up. Damn Easter candy.

The social life is pretty low key. I was having issues with a friend of mine. A gesture was made and things are smoother but not normal. I'm pretty sure that's because my attitude toward the friendship has changed. Another friend has been blowing me off quite a bit (should I be getting a complex here?). Last week our lunch got put off because she was "too down for lunch". Personally hanging out with my friends helps in those situations. Once again there's an element of emotional detachment because somethings are just not worth the angst.

On that topic I'm pretty much ignoring the PTA. I'm predicting it will fold next year because no one will step up for any of the officer positions. No angst here I'm past that.

So what does that leave? A fabulous party this past weekend for one thing. Last minute invite, so I didn't actually know the theme ahead of time. I was a bit worried about that but decided it wouldn't matter, and it didn't. I had a couple drinks and several excellent catch up conversations. I successfully avoided the Karaoke and had an all around good time. The experience brought to mind something else too. At work my boss and his b*tch are both 50 year old men. Until their recent 50th birthdays I thought they were older. They've always talked and acted as if they were older. The revelation that they were only fifty had been bumming me out a bit - I didn't want to be such a fuddy duddy when I hit fifty. After the party I was contemplating the age of the guest of honor. Mentally I compared him to the boss. No contest. It was truely uplifting. Everyone should be wearing gold lame and throwing Elvis parties when they're over 50! Loved. the. Shoes.

The rest of this past weekend was watching a selection from the Videodrome that I'd missed in the theatre, and learning yet again just how much I suck at video games. At our house now, coming in last is known as "doing a mommy".

I have a relatively new computer at work. It's keys are lightly bumpy. I went over to the old computer to do some work on the application that requires it's ancient operating system. They keyboard keys are absolutely smooth. I wonder if they started smooth or if it's from 6 years of typing on the same keyboard?

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen