Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2006-01-22 - 1:11 p.m.

The Middle of Winter

It was in the mid 60's outside yesterday in the middle of winter in the Mid-Atlantic. That my friends is just not right. I sat on the deck after I fed the birds and tried to enjoy it a bit, but the sun was week and the wind was kicking up. Not much to enjoy there.

It's a normal weekend around here. Boring. But as my sister would say 'dull is good'. There are the usual mounds of laundry to do. The bits and spots of tidying up. Just the usual stuff.

I sat down at my desk this morning to work on making buttons for the school talent show. Just a little token for the participants who are thankfully totally oblivious to the angst the event has caused. The simple act of giving the participants a token became such a major big deal and frankly ended my interest in participating in the PTA at all. I have never been treated so rudely for asking a question as I was for asking why we subjected this expenditure to greater scrutiny than any other. In the end they decided to just go with buttons again to avoid spending money and having to deal with it. Which brings me to my desk with a pile of button backs and papers and all the makings. Though it's not rocket science, no one else seems to know how to work the button machine besides me.

The last time I used the button machine it was to make Weetacon buttons for swag. As I cleared my desk to work I enjoyed each of the scattered items: the card from Lips advertising their Halloween show "Butt Pirates of the Carribean", a Pratt bunny drawing on a Journalcon Schedule, a superball from Jesse. The flotsom and jetsom of con swag. Just a smidgeon more than a month until Weetapie. I'm very much looking forward to GreenBay in February. It might even be a little more like winter there.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen