Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-10-28 - 10:33 a.m.

Veni Vidi Dorky

I keep starting my JournalCon recap and thinking it's too darn long. Really I'm at a page and a half and only up to Friday. What to do, What to do?

I'll sum up.

Thurday much flying, much walking, and drag queens! I learned that if you wear a shirt that says "SQEE" you will meet many people. Most of them will be homeless, but there's an occasional gem such as Pratt. I also learned that if you think should I tour these ships now or later, always pick now. Somehow later doesn't happen.

Friday. Seaport village for obligatory familial gifts, minor disappointment that it was just a tourist store locale. Fish tacos for lunch and a JournalCon registration shift that turned into an afternoon of schmooze. I learned am a total dork who does not recognize artfully aged artwork. Yes friends I colored in my JournalCon staff shirt because I thought it was misprinted. It never occurred to me that the white areas were intentional. Doh!

Friday Night. The strongest whiskey sours I've ever had. Hanging with Dichroic and LA. Dining and chatting with an excellent group including LA, Thatgrrrl, Meg, Minarae, Petrouchka and Amanda Page who hasn't updated in ages (dear you should change that). I learned way too many things to remember and chatted with bunches of people, and ate a tasty meal. Oh and apparently rich deserts don't phase me, others have mentioned it was yummy but they couldn't finish it. I, on the other hand, didn't seem to have that problem at all.

Saturday. By happenstance of timing I breakfasted with the most lovely and amazing Bozoette Mary, of the she who lives 10 minutes down the highway from me and I flew across the country to meet. Worth the distance, but I should have opted for earlier as she is wonderful. My two truths and a lie for the Newbie panel were apparently too easy. And I discovered that many people are very serious about this little hobby. One Journaler has said they were self important, but I don't think it's that so much as serious. I'm not and so I opted for some sightseeing instead of the rest of the panels. I should have asked if anyone wanted to join me but I guess I'm totally self absorbed because it didn't occur to me until later.

I wanted a San Diego experience. I decided to start with Old Town San Diego. Apparently my San Diego experience was had in trying to find the damn thing. I drove many local roads. I experience the most frightening road I have ever driven. Laurel Street was probably not a 90 degree angle but it must be close. The rental car brakes will never be the same. Ultimately I kept circling where I thought the darn street was until I saw it. And missed it. But I was so good with the area roads by then I was able to loop around and get it the next time. I spent 30 minutes trying to find it. I was utterly disappointed when I did. It was ok but mostly reconstructed buildings with tourist stores in them. Ok slightly more mexican tourist goods, but still. I did the quick tour around and headed back to the car. It was 1ish so I decided to try for the zoo. And it was a zoo. I had been warned and did the bus tour first. Then I walked to the couple places I decided needed closer inspection. The koalas were cute, furry and sleeping. The young panda ran up a tree and hung by his hips - it was pretty cool to see. No monkey sex during my visit (Hi Jessie!) but many other fine animal behaviors. I left right around closing time with one more item on my list. The pacific ocean. So I braved the 5 and drove to the Del Coronado parked and waded in the ocean in the rain. I returned wet to my knees, coated with sand and very serene.

Saturday Evening. Leaving on my own meant I missed out on all the dinner coordination. Being an intrepid loner, I simply trooped off on my own. I ate at the Brazillian Steak House watching the Sox and grazing on more meat than is strictly sensible. Then back to the hotel and off to Karaoke. I managed to only sing from the audience, yet again, doing the Timewarp and a little Cheap Trick. But really after Trance, Jessie, Jessie's sister(!), Pablo, Chauffi, Weet and so many of the others I just could not sully the spotlight. Too many rock stars! Instead I hung out on the patio and talked and talked and talked. At the end of the party I was even willing to brave the sports bar, but who the hell closes a bar at midnight?!? Sadly I just couldn't manage the walkabout alternative even if there was a promise of Pancakes afterward.

Sunday was time for a bit of the readings then sad goodbyes. I managed to delay at least one sad goodbye as Mary joined me on the drive back to drop off the rental car and hop on their bus to the airport.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen