Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-07-16 - 9:57 a.m.

So Very Quiet.

Amazing how quiet the house is without the TV or Game Cube or computer games. The boy is mopy but tough nuts. I'm not even entirely sure he gets how bad this is. By the middle of next week I bet he does.

After suffering from an instant tension headache and upset stomach for the rest of the afternoon, I headed home. As I got in the car I was pissed yet again - I had gone out of my way to get the kid some ring pops just that day at lunch. Now there was no freakin' way he would get those. I realized my weekend had just opened up again too as I wasn't taking him to the childrens museum Sunday as I'd promised on Wednesday. Off I went to the farm and the grocery.

By the time I got home the plan was formed. Nothing electronic for 2 weeks (the suspended week and the first week back at camp), a new house record. Return of the use of electronics only if his behavior at camp on his return is acceptable. Next week he will come to work with me and will be allowed to bring books, crayons, workbook and that's it. He will sit with those quiet pursuits and that is that.

Sadly if my sister calls for pool time, I'll have to say no. I will let him go to his cousin's birthday today but I'm not letting him have friends over if he asks. I might find yard work for him tomorrow or perhaps he will accompany me on a walk or some such.

Unfortunately, some how I have the feeling this is going to hurt me more than it hurts him. Sigh.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen