Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-05-10 - 12:46 p.m.

Life at the End of the Lane.

Amazing how quickly it goes from suburbs to shady woodland behind the house in the spring.

The wackos at the driveway's end have put their house on the market. It's not a suprise the rumor mill told us there was a McMansion under construction a couple towns over (heaven forfend their child should go the middle school we are districted for). The only big suprise is the price they've asked - $670,000. Personally I think it's way overpriced, but still I'm anxiously waiting to see what they get for it.

Four years ago we paid a bit more than half that for ours. Admittedly their amenities are good - the wacks have a pool and apparently a hot tub. They have a screened porch and "professional landscaping". But really! Their house is smaller than ours by a bunch. Not sure of the bedroom count, but we have a whole additional piece in our house with the office and laundry. Their lot is just a bit more than half the acreage of ours (though admittedly some of ours is tied up in the long driveway). The immediate neighbor and I just look at each other and go "oh my god"!



We've taken yet another piece of dead deer from the hound. I think the carcass is running out of feet. Or perhaps I should say I certainly hope it's running out!

Yesterday morning there was a fox hunting at the edge of the woods. Husband said "what the heck is that!" and it even took me a bit to figure it out. Foxes are hard to identify when their heads are burrowed under the tall ground cover and their red just isn't as red as it used to be. I love watching them hunt. First they poke their nose into the grasses over and over. Then they pounce. It's catlike but more straight up and down than a cat. They practically levitate. I have no idea if my visitor was successful, but he(she?) was certainly enthusiastic.

The neighbors haven't mowed the lawn yet this spring and I'm tempted to go beg them not too. There is a specatular patch of purple flowers (not sure what kind) just off the rear right corner of their house. I nearly cried when hubs mowed the side of ours a couple weeks ago. It was wall to wall violets at the time.

The only downside of our leafy little patch of heaven is that the sunny spot where I grow veggies is getting shadier and shadier. I'm not sure if I should top the patch of trees nearest it or resign myself to the garden's demise. I think most the shade is coming from the neighbors trees, and those I can't do anything about.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen