Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2005-01-06 - 1:47 p.m.

Taking a Deep Breath

The thing about big changes, particularly ill planned ones, is that they are painful at first.

Painful is how the week started. The first day of the new system the whole day was painful. Files didn't go where they were supposed to or when they were supposed to and many things were pushed by hand. Tuesday the morning was painful so much so that I ended up screaming at small brained mainframe programmers who cut chunks off my files by not setting things up correctly. The afternoon settled into weird little issues.

Yesterday was more weird issues as well as the sort of problems that come from lack of testing. Tables with text data that happened to be numbers magically lost their leading zeros. Operations folks processing the error reports only sent us half of it. Users ran items twice thinking it was "hung up" the first time. The results were much more damaging but very little of it had anything to do with me.

Today more niggling growing pains. More lack of testing issues. Formatting problems. Some little some big. But I'm taking it a bit slower today, I have tasks waiting but I can only go full speed for so long. This is my 11th straight work day and I'm tired.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen