Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-12-07 - 5:38 p.m.

It's beginning to look...

So it snowed Friday. The big one - two punch that they were touting put about 6 inches on the ground which was promptly cleared or melted from the roads by mid-day Saturday. But they were calling for a big one, so of course my husband went out Friday afternoon to buy a sno-blower.

We'd actually talked about it before this. He'd been pricing them at several stores, but didn't really want to cough up the money for one. Since manual snow removal seems to end up on my chore list, I okayed spending some joint funds. With that he was off and ready to buy. He went to the store and picked one out, but it wouldn't fit in the trunk. So he said he'd pick it up later. He borrowed my van after dinner and went to get it. Of course they had sold it again even though he had already bought it. And they were out of them too - it was snowing afterall.

So he got the floor model and a partial refund. When he returned we talked about it and I asked why he left paid for merchandise there at the store. Couldn't they fit it partly in the trunk and tie the top closed, I asked. And he allowed as how they offered to do that, but it was raining and he didn't want to get it wet. Yes friends, my husband did not want the sno-blower to get wet. You know I could not make things like this up.


So we split the snow day on Friday and I took advantage of the morning to write Christmas cards out. Then on Saturday I decided that since I was definitely not going anywhere it was time to make like Christmas around here.

I had lots of help from the boy. More than I could stand, frankly. I was still ouchie from excessive snow removal activities, but the child was relentless. I wanted to do a little, sit a little, he was practically bouncing with energy. As usual my husband was operating from some alternate universe. Example: the boy and I are in the living room surrounded by boxes and part way through hanging decorations on the tree. DH comes up and informs me that he has the DVD player all set up for me to watch Johnny Depp in Pirates. Uhm like I'm supposed to drop everything in mid-chore and spend my afternoon lolling on the couch?! Silly man, that's his job around the house.

It pained me, but I ceded creative control of the tree to the boy. I just kept saying to myself that Christmas is for kids. So I just handed him boxes of ornaments and let him hang them. I only had to tell him 3 or 4 times not to hang identical ornaments right next to each other. Then, when he got tired of decorating, I took the boxes of Christmas balls and filled in the gaps. Needless to say all the interesting decorations are from the boys nose level down. It's an interesting effect.


Today I bought the kid new shoes and braved the mall for a brief spell. My only error was letting him talk me into eating McD's while we were there. That was a serious zoo situation! Now I am very nearly done shopping. (Just DH's sister and maybe one more for him). As long as my internet purchases show up soon I'm good to go. Which just leaves copious cookie baking and perhaps a champagne sloshed tree ogling session!

Fa la la la la!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen