Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-07-22 - 1:03 p.m.

Stood up.

All day I've been trying to respond to an email. All day I've been trying to think of the right balance between "Oh gee that's ok" and "goddamn you selfish bitch".

I was supposed to meet with the PTA vp. 7pm at her place. I leave work a morsel early, grab the kid, make my new monday stop at former co-workers for my farm produce and hit the door at home at 5:30. I change clothes while the boy starts on his workbook. Then I start dinner. We drag the boy through 2 pages of agony. Dinners on the table at 6:30. Then I zip away before desert to make my meeting.

I ring the doorbell once, twice and three times. I go to my car and wait for 5 minutes. Then I try calling. Seems I've been stood up.

This morning I get this email:

"I'm so sorry about last night. We refinanced our house yesterday afternoon and my husband unexpectly took the afternoon off. We wound up eating dinner at our swim club and came home late. I'm so sorry! We can you meet later this week?"

So how exactly does one respond when you want to say "stupid selfish bitch" but you know you can't quite say that.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen