Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-06-09 - 10:17 p.m.

Adult Stuff.

I'm at work right now. I'm watching the process that was supposed to be upgraded on the mainframe today. I'm willing to bet money that it wasn't upgraded on the mainframe today. Deleting less than 5000 records has already taken over 20 minutes. This is looking like the install I aborted months ago because the deletions were squirrelly.

I'm sitting her thinking that I want to scream at people tomorrow. I'm thinking that somebody made a big mistake. I'm thinking that I made a huge mistake earlier today. I'm thinking I have to be polite and adult about this. I do not feel particularly polite or adult.

Earlier I went to an awards ceremony. It was chamber of commerce awards for our county. We nominated a teacher for Teacher of the Year. She was a runner up. It was a very impressive group of educators being recognized.

I felt completely out of my element at this occasion. I was with people I know, but I felt incredibly out of place. I mentioned it and someone asked me why. I said because this is a gathering of adults doing something adult. It made me very uncomfortable. Usually even when I'm hanging out with the people I know what we are doing could rarely be refered to as adult. We play medieval. We dress up in costumes. We sword fight with sticks.

This PTA thing is taking me in a whole new direction. It's not a comfortable thing either. Time to grow a little, I guess.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen