Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2003-04-04 - 4:14 p.m.

Facing Mortality.

Another friend has died. It seems that I'm getting to the age where that is happening with more and more frequency. I think I've already faced the inevitability of my own mortality, but these things really do highlight it.

I'll remember Carlwyn best from the first time I met him. He was camped across from us at the SCA 25 year celebration. He provided excellent southern hospitality to us and he was a hoot to talk with besides. Hanging out at their camp at made for a very pleasant afternoon. I haven't seen him in recent times, but I think of him fondly.

I guess the fact that I haven't had living any living grandparents for nearly 20 years, or living parents for over 10 years has made me think about death more than many folks. I always knew my parents age would give me a different perspective.

I was the last child of 6 born to a mom in her 40's. I always said I was raised by old people. Heck I have a brother who is retiring this year! It's an odd juxtaposition to the fact that I have a six year old. Especially when you realize I have great neices who are older than he is.

Is there a lesson in all this? Who knows. Just don't wait to enjoy the things you want to do, you ain't gettin' any younger after all.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen