Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-09-23 - 7:47 p.m.

The medicinal properties of the Margarita.

Oof. You know it's gonna be a doozy when your first five minutes involve sitting down, turning on the computer and taking a call from a user about your primary outside system.

I can't believe that the ops folks would upgrade the primary accounting system without testing all of the systems that feed or are fed from it. I come in and discover that my downloads are completely hosed. I have a 12,000 record file with 45 records. I have an 18,000 record file where half the columns are off by a character. And I know it's not my system because they've managed to put the tildes ~ in the wrong places in the source file.

I looked up and it was 9:30 - I was sure my stuff would be fixed by 10. By 11:30 I was thinking 12:00. I had the file loaded and called the ops folks with errors before they even sent the email that the file was available.

For icing on the cake one of the annoying little men that has taken over the company has suddenly decide that a process they ignored for 3 months has to be ready in 2 weeks. We have be trying to get a system in and tested and now he's being a complete asshole about it. He had the nerve to call a meeting in his office and then tell the attendees not to sit down because it was going to be 'short and loud'. What a jerk.

So everyone wants to know if that system is my priority, yeah except when 20 customers call me about the other system. I vividly remember 9:30, 11:30, 1:30 and 3 - everything in between was a complete blur.

I proposed queso to the husband over the phone at 4. Being a good and wise husband and because I was paying he said sure. I even have munchkin trained for queso - if we don't order it, he will. Tonight he was wistful that we had the big round glasses (margaritas) and his was straight and tall (milk).

The best medicinal property of the margarita is that even though I know clearly what a pain today was and I know how little is fixed for tomorrow, I'm mellow about it. 30 oz of margarita will do that for you.

Ole!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen