Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-09-13 - 8:06 p.m.

The bad attitude club.

I never thought for a million years I would stand in my office area and agree with slacker network boy that our jobs suck and it's not worth putting in a lot of effort. Today, however, I agreed whole heartedly.

The day stunk from the first. I arrived early because I am drowning in a crappy application being changed to accomodate the re-org. But not really changed, just sort of changed. It's total crap. I was so involved in it for the last 3 days that I haven't done squat besides this and emergencies.

I realize that I have neglected to reset certificates for 2 users who requested it. Plus I have to do re-ups for people expiring. Plus I have to try and tweak the data to make the piece of crap application look like it matches our structure (which it doesn't). It's just me and help desk guy and he announces that he has to take a laptop across the street to the hotel because of the presentation.

Crap I forgot about the presentation by the exec. Only now I'm alone in the office, picking up the phone, trying to get the system admin daily diligence done and the certificates and oh by the way it's 8:30 and where is the fucking contractor who is supposed to answer the phones?

8:40 he calls - he's stopping to get bagels for everyone. I tell him we don't need bagels we won't have time to eat them because we have a 9:00 all-hands meeting so could he please just come to work instead. He sputters and says he'll be in in 20 minutes. I think his mo is if he's running late he brings food and thinks that makes it better.

He arrives at 9 - I am still alone in the office because someone had to answer the phones. I leave for the all hands, hustling my fat butt across the street to try to get there before it starts.

I hate to say it just goes down hill from there but it did. California nitz programmer whining and nagging because we should be testing her software. But princess thinks we need a meeting with the testers before we start. But of course princess never got around to scheduling it. After I spent monday and tuesday being pounded about how they need the software out now.

Add in a contractor selling us software who interupts my lunch so I can "try something" for him. Then douse liberally in the admin who has suddenly (and at a fairly small hourly rate) been tasked to create the departments capital budget for next year. I guess she was supposed to guess because bossman and princess couldn't be bothered to tell her what was planned for next year.

Bossman breezed through for 5 minutes around 2:30 and suddenly he's got his lunch bag in hand and he's heading out. I literally had to stop him and tell him that the admin needed some help because she wasn't comfortable writing the budget. He spent literally 30 seconds on it. He crossed out 3 lines added 1 and changed 2 numbers. She is meanwhile practically in tears over this. And all the while princess is yelling about she needs this and she needs that. Bossman ignored her and so did the admin.

Gah. I'm hating my job. And desperately trying to remind myself that at least I have one.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen