Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2002-08-05 - 3:52 p.m.

The strange thing about August.

So we're back from the beach. It was lovely. Traffic wasn't bad. Weather was hot but there was a good breeze most of the time. The water was really warm, but there was a really horrid amount of seaweed. Walking out into the water reminded me of a bad horror movie.

I think we got a nice beach fix. Munchie got a nice grandma and pop-pop fix and I actually got a nice break. I sat on the beach sunday morning before we came home and it felt like I had been on vacation.

So now we come to the weirdness that is august. Most of my friends and acquaintances will be heading off to the Pennsic Wars soon. I got the flying weekend trip last year, and I guess that's why I don't miss it as horribly as usual. For the previous 5 years I was very annoyed at not going to war. From the end of July until it was over I would feel horribly disappointed. Unfortunately, though, I've never had enough leave to spend a bunch just on what I want to do. When you're married it becomes a joint decision. And quite frankly DH doesn't care about the SCA and doesn't like camping.

There are only 3 weeks until munchie starts school again. It is just too weird. The summer seems to have flown yet again. August feels like it gets lost in the shuffle between the endless summer and the start of school. It's still summer. It's hot as blazes. Yet now we're thinking about school and that makes summer feel over.

When I was a kid school started after labor day. So until then it was summer. It was the dividing line. Summer ended then. Now by the time labor day comes munchie has already had a week of school. I guess everyone's much more serious about learning these days.

So here's to the dog days. The in-between days. The last bits of a carefree summer that I don't actually have anymore. Oh well.

TTFN.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen