Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2007-05-12 - 4:20 p.m.

OOF!

Tired. Very, very tired. And sick. Or alergied I'm just not sure which any more.

It started early in the week. Congestion, lost voice and tired. I would gladly have blown off chaperoning the field trip but I know they have it all planned out and actually had trouble getting enough parents for the trip. The trip was good, the kids were good, the teachers were organized but there were still some snafus. For instance lunch was eaten just prior to arriving at Mt. Vernon at about 10:45 in the morning. We were told to leave snacks and such on the bus. We did not return to the bus until nearly 5. You do the math.

There was also a late day snafu where we split into 3 groups each with a tour guide who gave us the outbuildings tour then basically dropped us into the line for the mansion tour. As we finished we gathered under the trees to wait for everyone else. No time was set for this and 2/3 of the group waited over 30 minutes for the last 3rd. Then we all trouped down to the education center for bathrooms. And we all gathered while they took inventory. Sure enough there was one parent and her kids missing. So we waited and waited and waited, and the kids got louder and louder and louder, and the Mt Vernon staff got antsier and antsier and antsier. Finally she was found and we went to the front circle and finally back to the buses. It was a long long day.

Friday I went to work for a rest. Unfortunately a job we had just told PNC never fails on Wednesday, failed Friday. That was a bit of a run around but then it settled down.

I realized about mid-week that I screwed myself with regard to Mother's Day. See hubs sister is stage managing a play and the in-laws are coming down to see it. I said I'd do dinner. That means I get to spend my Mother's Day cooking yet another Bug's Life dinner (they come, they eat, they leave) for hubs family. All 10 of them. Yeah.

So Friday I come home and realize that I'm entertaining Sunday and both my house and garden are a mess. There's weeds taking over the garden and grass growing over the edging, there's leaves and sticks and dirt over every floor in the house (small furry dog appears to be made of velcro that releases once inside). The dining room has a game abandoned weeks ago laid all over it. Sigh.

Today I started with the outside. Weeded, trimmed, mulched trees, planted flowers, hosed off the muddy sidewalk. I also finally got the firepit cover painted to cover the major rusting from last season. I still have to sort and file in the office and clean out the big bowl and the inbox (notorious paper collectors). Tomorrow I really need to spend a little time in the veggie garden - even if it doesn't forward the entertaining cause. I have a couple plants to plant and I need to seed the bean patch. I also bought netting to keep the deer out! I figure that will take a couple hours in the morning so I'll still have time to sweep, vacuume and give the bathroom a quick swipe.

I can't wait for work monday so I can rest.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen