Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2007-05-08 - 7:52 p.m.

Tree Sex and Assorted Life Stuff.

The pollen, she is killing me. I do so wish the vegetation had a less invasive form of sex. Of course, what with the disappearance of the honey bees I guess I should be happy that some plants do it on the breeze.

I have so little clue where we were when last we left our heros. I suppose it was Saturday. Free Comic Day. I was heartened to see LA mention free comic day. I'd hate no one else's family celebrated that noble occasion. In our case, however, it was the boys who celebrated while I went to my Sissy's house.

Saturday was the launch of my niece's direct marketing business. So I hung out with my sisters and saw several demonstrations that had me quite amazed. Afterwards I ate snacks, chatted and spent a large amount of money on skin care products. The proceeds support my neice, so it's all in the name of a good cause. I figure I can try them out and if I don't like them I just won't get them again. I do believe, though, that at minimum the sea salt scrub will have a permanent place in the agenda.

The evening ended with 2 of my sisters, my niece, her husband and myself having a late dinner at a local eatery. I rarely stay out like that and I never eat dinner at nine, but I haven't seen the sibs since Christmas time. I needed a fix.

Sunday my son had a play date. Hubs was at the movies, my son was at his friend's and I had several solo hours in my own home. That just never happens. I immediately picked a movie from hubs collection that is not kid friendly and parked myself on the couch to watch. Yep it's a wild life I lead.

We followed that up with Skate Night. Truely lousy planning to have Skate Night right after the Carnival. Thankfully my son gave me the best gift by saying "you know you don't have to skate Mom". That freed me to protect my currently fragile knees and schmooze while the boys skated.

Thus ended the weekend bringing me back around to the soul sucking experience that my work has become. I'm archiving data, keeping things running and sitting in on conference calls. Not very exciting.

I'm blowing off a trip to Philly tomorrow and it looks like I'm going to get away with it no sweat. I wasn't sure that would be the case but not having a boss anymore helps. Really though, why should I drive to Philly for a meeting when none of the computer systems being discussed are there, they are here. I can't show them anything by going there, I can just talk which I can do very well via telephone. The only attraction of a meeting in Philly is employees of the new bank. Since I won't be one of them there seems very little value in going there just for "face time". Bah. Who needs to burn gas for that.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen