Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2007-05-05 - 1:42 p.m.

A vote of confidence.

Last night was the elementary school carnival. It's an event I have issues with due to the way the people in charge of it blasted what we did when I was president. Frankly except for the addition of a couple of moonbounces the new folks didn't improve it, just made it way more expensive. We go anyway because it makes the boy happy. I had a boatload of tickets and just like last year the boy used about half and then did things like play on the playground or show his stuffed animal to some of the little kids.

(Sidebar - I know it's just him being his version of nice but the fact that my kid was going up to the littler kids and saying "want to pet a cricket" is a wee bit creepy.)

At the carnival I chatted with several parents including the next door neighbors. They have a daughter who is a senior in high school. I asked if she'd decided on a college. She's going to Virginia Tech.

Here's the best part - she was undecided the week before the shooting but the reaction of the campus and students to the tragedy was what sold her. It's that school cameraderie that you can't gauge from the campus tour. So thanks to sensible parents who know it could have happened anywhere, she's going there. I like the way that kid thinks!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen