Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2007-03-26 - 5:56 p.m.

Philly.

So we went to Philly this weekend. It was a rare outing with both my men. Usually the short one and I go places, but this time it was the whole family.

My little one loved the Franklin Institute. Not suprising since interactive science museums are generally fun.

Tut was a good exhibit but somewhat over hyped. All the advance info made me think it would be somehow grander than it was. That's not to say it wasn't a good exhibit because it was.

The hotel was only slightly inconvenient due to the elevator from the garage parking being broken. Also the spa heater was broken which was sad. The boy, however, gave it very high ratings because the tv got Cartoon Network (the one true faith in our home).

Friday night we had an amazingly delicious dinner. We ate at an Italian place I'd been to with work for disaster recovery exercises. My husband adores Italian and it totally hit the spot. It's well known for it's oversize portions. The only amusing part to that was when I ordered garlic bread and they said do you mean a half order and I said no a whole order (the boys love their bread). That was 12 slices and the waiter kindof looked at me like I'd lost my mind. In the end I think we ate 9 of the 12 pieces between us.

Saturday's outing for history was a little less well received. We saw the Visitors Center the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. We did not make it down to the Constitution Center (I was outvoted). After half a day of history both boys were about done with that.

We went to Reading Terminal Market and rustled up some lunch. Afterwards we chilled a bit, then hit the hotel pool for a swim.

We tried early for dinner, but the restaurant suggested to us was already full from reservations. We decided to wing it based on places from the guide the hotel gave us. It was an incredibly delicious meal but also the single most expensive meal I've ever eaten. And that's with only one adult beverage on the tab. Hubs didn't complain, but I still ended up feeling guilty since I mentioned that I'd seen the restaurant in the book. Guess I didn't notice the many $ price rating. Neither of us got the $50 steak but still - woof.

We left on Sunday fairly early as the boys were about done and missed the glowing electronics of home. Which was good for me because I got to go to a Pampered Chef party!

Now briefly back to the regular schedule until our Easter trip. After that I think I'll be tripped out for a while.

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen