Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2007-03-19 - 11:13 a.m.

Where were we?

Oh yeah. I came into work on Thursday prepared to update on the latest and greatest of the painting project. Got the Network Solutions screen of frustration. I figured that D-land finally totally crapped itself and began seriously considering a switch to LJ. The real bear of it is that with work so dead quiet I was feeling the lack of diaries very very much. If I hadn't been able to get in from home I probably would have switched sites - I have the same name at LJ but just use it for the friends list right now.

There really wasn't much time to dally with diaries anyway at home as the painting project needed progress. I had all the walls washed in about an hour on Thursday night which helped my 'length of this project' anxiety quite a bit.

Painting was pretty much the name of the game this weekend. That's not to say I did nothing else. I had two splendid dinners out this weekend. Friday was the belated birthday for the Best Babe. Several of us met at our favorite Mexican place for munching and Margaritas. It's not the same as Mexico, but the food is good and the company excellent. There was minor foo and wah regarding the travels of The Babe's familial units who had been supposed to gather for a family pilgrimage to the old home town. Unfortunately the sleet and snow and general weather crap totally bunged that up.

That, however, opened the way for Saturday night's dinner with Best Babe and her excellent Dad. This was a novelty because a) it was a place I've never been before b) it was German food which we never do and 3) I brought the boys. It was a delicious outing.

In the interim during the day saturday I had finished prepping (removing switch covers, taping etc) and put one coat on everything. I had a minor hitch when I discovered that the paint roller had been lent out (probably going on 2 years ago) so I had to send the husband off to fetch a new one. The first coat looked like crap and I was a bit despairing though the work took less time (the walls) and more time (the trim) than I expected.

Sunday I lept at it early finishing everything at a fairly early and respectable time. It left me a bit of leeway to head to the store for a new valance (bye, bye poofy cabbage roses) and a couple pieces of new art for the walls. Hubs checked it out late afternoon and agreed it looked pretty good so I cleaned up everything and began reassembling. By the boy's bathtime (which he really wanted our big tub for) the room was finished and reassembled.

The only issues are small spots on two doors where pulling the taping off also pulled some paint off. I'll be touching those up eventually. No injuries and the only complaints are bruised knees (happens whenever I kneel) and a shoulder that is ouchier than it's usual ouchie state (pinback button machine injury).

Now I'm a bit behind on everything else and I could really used a bit of rest. I need to finish the taxes and I have no idea when I'm getting to the regular chores. Plus no catching up on any of it next week as we are going to Philly to see Tut! Ah well the chores are mostly optional (depends on one's filth tolerance) and there's plenty of time to rest at work where it's utterly and completely dead quiet right now.

Despite lots of word that they'd be keeping the ancient and venerable system I support, it looks like the latest rumor is that they've picked out a COTS replacement. Looks like my conversion will, in fact, involve converting data into a new system. Of course like most rumors this one may or may not be true. We shall see.

So how was your weekend?

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen