Deb's Place

DebSiobhan.Diaryland.Com

Our Excellent Hosts
Now
Then
Say Howdy
About Me
Guestbook

Moved - 2007-07-16
Inappropriate Movie Day! - 2007-06-23
Moving Up. - 2007-06-19
Pool Membership. - 2007-06-16
Should I be worried ... - 2007-06-15

2001-10-31 - 7:36 p.m.

Boo!

Happy Halloween!

We are having a very normal, very suburban holiday. I was afraid too many folks would hole up to avoid strangers. I'll admit that I was a bit worried waiting for that first bold trick or treater. I also scrapped the smarties for other candy that doesn't break up into a white or light colored powder. Just to keep down the freak-out factor. I doubt we'll get more than the folks from the local neighborhood, but that's ok I've been generous with the kids and the candy should be mostly gone by the last kid.

Munchkin has been out and is back. He has a nice little haul, some of it will probably still be around at Easter. Heck I think we still have some of his candy from last year in a bowl on the counter. He likes the concept of Halloween, he's really enthusiastic but he poops out early. Tonight he got home and just sort of abandoned the candy and went about the important business of playing. Finally DH asked if he wanted to eat any of the candy. I think he had one piece. Definitely didn't get that trait from me.

When I was growing up we used to do huge areas of our Bowie neighborhood. I had a jack-o-lantern bucket that was probably 15 inches tall. It was usually filled about half way. That was back when you'd still get the occasional homemade popcorn ball. It was my sister and I and for a while my brother too. I never remember the folks coming along. But my brother was older. He was, however, never politically correct. One year I remember he was a Klu Klux Klansman. I don't think my parents let him go with my sister and I that year.

TTFN and Happy Halloween!

To�� &�� fro


"The beauty of grace is that it makes life unfair."

-Matthew Thiessen